What’s New at the Farmers’ Market of Plainville this week? Garlic Scapes

DSC_0039

Yesterday at the Farmers’ Market of Plainville Daren Hall From George Hall Farm gave me a bag of garlic scapes and told me to enjoy and explore the delicious very short seasoned possibilities.

DSC_0046 DSC_0047
Rummaging through the refrigerator I found left over whole wheat pasta and left over brown rice. I prepared my first dish using garlic scapes and put one helping over the pasta and another over the rice. Xav told me I can make this dish again… so it must be good-

DSC_0041

I thought I would mince the scapes but they were so “bouncy” and difficult to manage that I thought…DSC_0043…why not use the food processor. It worked like a charm!DSC_0040I picked a large handful of fresh basil from the garden since garlic and basil are a great pair.DSC_0042I had half of an onion and half of a red bell pepper needing to be used so I sliced them thin and chopped the basil.I preheated a skillet over medium heat, added 3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, the scapes, peppers, onions and 1/2 teaspoon salt and sauted under a lid until the vegetables just started to soften.I preheated a skillet over medium heat, added 3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, the scapes, peppers, onions and 1/2 teaspoon salt and sauted under a lid until the vegetables just started to soften.DSC_0045I finished the dish by turning off the heat, adding fresh ground black pepper and the freshly chopped basil, stirring and pouring it all over the pasta/rice. A sprinkle of grated pecorino Romano and a simple dish is born.

Leave a Reply

