One Dish Baked Salmon and Steamed Vegetables

DSC_0119I needed to prepare a dinner that Xav could finish when he came home because I had afternoon plans. Xav is not very domesticated so when I say “finish” I mean put something in the oven or microwave and then serve it when the time is up. (To be fair I should note he can boil water, fry an egg and put bread in a toaster. He has also been known to boil pasta if there is a sauce already made.) Using what I had on hand- frozen salmon fillets, some left over vegetables and rice and peas- I assembled…

lightly oil a baking dish
place 3 salmon fillets in the bottom of the dish
add 1/2 (yellow) chopped bell pepper
add 1/2 chopped onion
add 5 chopped swiss chard stalks
DSC_0112 DSC_0113 DSC_0114
sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
and fresh ground black pepper
top with swiss chard greens
sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
and fresh ground black pepper
DSC_0116 DSC_0117
Cover with tin foil and a sticky note, “turn oven on to 375.
leave foil on. bake for 20 minutes. <3Lena”.
I left this dish in the refrigerator next to the left over rice.

The fish cooked and the vegetables steamed…
DSC_0118…served with a side of left over rice and peas it is a balanced meal with a protein, vegetable and starch- my Mom’s rule of thumb.

Leave a Reply

