Breakfast Confessions

DSC_0135 DSC_0136

Last night we went out with friends to the wonderfully unique LaSalle Market hear the debut of “Blue Rubies” a new local band. It is a cozy place that serves great food, hosts local talent, sells some deli foods and corner store kind of food and is super community oriented.

So, my confession and how it relates to breakfast? I love their fries. With lots of salt. And ketchup. I suppose there are worse foods to eat but I ordered a double; one regular and and one sweet potato (don’t kid yourself, just because sweet potatoes are good for you these deep fried lovelies are not). I had a little help eating them, but not as much as I needed. So living naturally went to a commercial break as I thoroughly enjoyed more than what I should have. It was divine until I crashed with exhaustion (not quite a food coma). Arriving home I regretted the binge, so overstuffed with over greased and salted deliciousness.

This morning I had some hot lemon water and a cleansing yoga practice to try to atone for my food sin and followed that up with a cup of green tea and (above right) a bowl of fresh raspberries, raw rolled oats, pecan pieces, ground flax seed and almond milk washed down with some echinacea tea. Top left? Xav, who had just a few fries, had the usual type of weekend breakfast; toasted German whole rye bread, topped with havarti cheese, farm fresh (look at that yoke!) eggs and some left over avocado dip from last night with a side of left over diced cucumber and cilantro salad and strawberries.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Confessions

  1. Nancy Finlayson

    SO FUNNY! WE WERE JUST SAYING HOW WE SHOULD TEASE YOU ON YOUR BLOG!!! GREAT SEEING YOU LENA…XOXOXONAN

    Reply
    1. lenapietri Post author

      I hope my public confession was sufficient since George hinted at some public verbal attack on my good name! My stomach did pay the price for my lapse in judgement. I hope you will hold me back next time-

      Reply

Leave a Reply

