Happenings in the Pietri Garden

DSC_0042
A few days ago I realized that the beach plums were beginning to ripen. We planted these fruit trees because they are indigenous to the New England coast and figured that with the sandy Plainville soil they may actually like it here. This is the first year that it bore fruit; tiny fruit. DSC_0040These little plums taste just like plums, I guess we will just need a lot of them to really fill up or make something out of them.

Last year our peach tree produced peaches, but only enough for the chipmunks and squirrels to knock them down from the tree and eat them. This year we might get lucky because the tree is loaded with beautiful fruit.
DSC_0041

The pawpaw tree is also producing this year so we will hopefully have a chance to taste the fruit for the first time. It was the first tree we planted in what we lovingly call “the orchard” (it is really just a small patch of fruit trees). It took ten years to just bloom. This year, at the mature age of 13 we have fruit! The fruit grows in clusters like bananas.
DSC_0046

The pear trees will also give us a nice harvest. We have seckel, anjou and bosc. My brother, Rik, loves pear sauce so my plan is to preserve the bulk of the fruit by making some. (stay tuned)
DSC_0043 DSC_0044 DSC_0045
DSC_0047

The quince trees only have a few small fruits. I will need to research what they need to be “happier” and more productive. Our soil is slightly acidic and very sandy. I have been adding lime spring, summer and fall. Maybe I just need to be patient.

Speaking of patience- I planted three bogless cranberries and two elderberry trees (bushes?) this spring. The cranberries took a heavy hit with hungry rabbits tasting the new treats. My father helped out and built cages to protect them. They have recovered and I look forward to seeing how they do next year unmolested.
DSC_0048

One of the elderberries bloomed and produced a few berries (still green). Oddly, there is a late bloom that won’t have time to produce fruit so maybe I will use the flower for a tea or infusion.
DSC_0050
DSC_0051

DSC_0049There was a dragonfly that buzzed along with me as I took the camera to document some of the garden. They are beautiful and magical. As I examined the elderberries it was looking at me with its large eyes and tipping its head like a puppy with a question.
DSC_0052 DSC_0053

This year I planted eggplant for the first time. Can’t wait to pick this first beauty and make a delicious dish. I haven’t decided… baba ghanoush, eggplant parmesan, ratatouille. I may need to ask Xav as eggplant is one of his favorite vegetables.

4 thoughts on “Happenings in the Pietri Garden

    1. lenapietri Post author

      Thanks Nan! This is why summers are so amazing- I can spend them in the peace of a garden that we have tended from infancy. I didn’t post all of the tomatoes, peppers, basil, cucumber, zucchini, berries, etc but they are in the meals I make. From the garden to the table; I love it!

      Reply
    1. lenapietri Post author

      Time, trial and error… glad to share my extras in late fall for you to transplant. Happy rain! if it didn’t come today I was going to need to get out to water, the plants were getting thirsty. See you at the farmers market.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

