Preserving Summer Tomatoes; Canning Marinara Sauce

DSC_0015

Learning how to preserve the bountiful summer garden has been fun and I hope it will prove to be rewarding during Connecticut’s dreary winter months.
DSC_0005 DSC_0006 DSC_0007
DSC_0008 DSC_0009 DSC_0012
This is not my recipe for marinara sauce, I followed the “half recipe” on Ball’s website. The chemistry of canning is critical in preserving food safely and properly so I didn’t invent my own recipe (I am new to canning). The projected yield is about 3 pints but I yielded 5; maybe because I did not strain the seeds and peel out of the tomato puree (?). I know I said I was following the recipe but we like chunky sauce and I didn’t want to waste perfectly good parts of the tomatoes (so much for following a recipe). Oh, and I used a stainless steel immersible blender instead of blending in batches, much easier. There were a few tablespoons of marinara sauce that did not fit in the jars so we had a sample and it tasted divine. All it needed was a sprinkle of salt since there is none in the recipe. Salt, pepper, fresh garlic and/or other herbs can be added depending on how the sauce is used. By the way, 10 lbs of tomatoes was about 26 cups for those of you that are interested in canning but don’t have a scale. The process isn’t difficult but it is time consuming.

Leave a Reply

