Farm to Table Party

Yesterday evening we went to a gathering with farmers and foodies for a “farm to table” party. I prepared a creamy vegan potato salad using ingredients from Hall Farm and marinated vegetables from my garden in a balsamic vinaigrette.
DSC_004520 medium potatoes
1/4 red onion; minced
1 Tablespoon mustard
1 Tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 Tablespoon dill weed (if I had fresh I would have preferred it and used 1/4 cup chopped)
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil (my favorite for dressing- California Olive Ranch)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/8-1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper

Scrub potatoes, place in a large pot with water and 1 teaspoon sea salt. Bring the potatoes to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes until tender (I have a little metal poker I use to test but my mother simply used a toothpick). Drain and rinse with several baths of cold water then set aside to cool. Meanwhile, prepare the dressing by whisking together the remaining ingredients. Cut potatoes into 1/2-3/4 inch cubes and place in a large bowl, add the onions and pour the dressing over top and toss together.

DSC_004812 cups fresh vegetables (I included yellow wax beans, 3 varieties of tomato, tomatillos and Italian peppers) cut into bite size pieces
2 cloves garlic; crushed
1/4 cup fresh basil; chopped
1/2-3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/8-1/4 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
3 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar (I prefer The Olive Oil Factory‘s organic)
6 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (California Olive Ranch)

Combine all ingredients.

 

Leave a Reply

