Our First Pawpaws!

DSC_0015While walking by the pawpaw tree I noticed the sweet smell of fruit. When I tested a few of the pawpaws 2 were soft to the touch! This means they are ready to be picked. This is extra exciting because it is the first time we have pawpaws and it isn’t a  fruit that is available at stores or markets. Also, my father is visiting and will be here tomorrow so he can sample them as well. This has been a long term family project to cultivate trees that produce this wonderful “exotic” fruit that is indigenous to the united states as far north as Michigan.
DSC_0016 DSC_0018The taste is truly its own- the texture is like a custard or creamy banana but the flavor is like a mixture of banana (not over-powering ripe banana), coconut and peaches. Many years ago my father got a hold of a pawpaw and I remember thinking it was like a Kahlua custard. My guess is that it was overripe after tasting this just ripe fresh from the tree. We found the best way to eat the fruit was to scoop it out with a spoon and spit the large seeds out (as delicately as possible). Xav and I are excited to share this with friends and see what they think so there may be an update with a better description of the flavor. There are so many fruits that I will also need to figure out what to do with them. According the the Miller Nurseries catalog (where we purchased the tree) the pawpaw is “high in protein and a good source of vitamins and minerals”. Check out the detailed nutritional breakdown I found through Kentucky State University. I am saving the seeds because my father is interested in starting a tree from seed and this particular tree is quite beautiful and produced an abundance of fruit.
DSC_0019

2 thoughts on “Our First Pawpaws!

Leave a Reply

